Monday, January 18, 2010



The 2010 World Slasher Cup 8-Cock International Derby at the Araneta Coliseum growls loud today as the Year of the Metal Tiger-edition of the biggest, grandest and most prestigious cockfighting competition in the planet unfolds starting at 11 in the morning as a record-breaking field of 260 entries begin their epic 6-day battle between the best and the finest breeds and strains of fightingcocks from all over the globe.

Hosted by the Pintakasi of Champions, this record-breaking is co-presented by Thunderbird Bexan XP - the potent blood conditioner.

Colliding in today's 2-cock eliminations are the first half of the field with the rest of the competitors set to lock horns tomorrow.

Foreign contingent is led by the Hawaian-Guam Group of Joe Tavares who is fielding six entries. The visitors also include Jeff Hudspeth & Jeral Inman with their Cedar Creek Paradise entry, James Campbell of Osage Game Farm, Clarence Perkins of Kentucky, Hawaian entry Lahaina Boys led by Kali Casco; Jeff Hudspeth from Ronda, North Carolina; Bill McNutt, Joe Wolcott, Bruce Barnette, Wilbert LeBlanc & Richard Harris of Louisiana, Roger Roberts of Georgia, Brad Padgette of Oregon, Damon Yorkman of Kentucky, Brian Corkren of Alabama & Kiana Borovies of Hawaii, Mike Formosa of Hawaii,, Jorge "Goy" Goitia of California, Arthur Rhodes of Tenessee and Ray Alexander of Alabama.

Other visiting entries are the Malaysian Group, Sigfrey Linsangan-Guam, Mar Gatmaitan-Guam, Henry Navarro-California, Ric Cabullos-Canada, Babay Evangelista-California, Cesar Ancaya, Rene Moraga & Glen Ferrer-San Diego; Warlito Raquel-Hawaii and Joey Melendres-Australia. Zosimo Antivo of Las Vegas.

The locals is led by Nene Araneta with his Thunderbird entry backed by Philippine cockfighting's cream of the crop composed of Sonny Lagon with four entries, Dicky Lim, Boy Marzo, Honey Yu, Edwin Aranez, Jesry Palmares, Cito Alberto, Bernie Tacoy and his Ormoc Golds, Cong. Rudy Albano, Boy Diaz, Biboy Enriquez, Patrick Antonio, Wilvin Sy, Peping Ricafort, Boy Lechon, Manny Dalipe, Eddie Araneta, Rey Briones, Claude Bautista, Wilson Ong, Atong Ang and the father & son tandem of Engr. Ted & Nandie Pacheco (Triseven) among others.

Defending champion Marcel Julao of San Juan City, MM with partner Rey Morla (entry name : MTJ Bros. Flash Bomba) is geared up to fight for an unprecedented back-to-back victory that has never been done since Peping Ricafort achieved the feat in 2000.

Also listed to see action are 2-time champion Gengen Arayata, Mike Romulo, Wilvin Sy, Rio Salceda, Madlambayan Bros., Tony Ang, Atty. Virgilo Manguerra, John Capinpin, Ms. Osang dela Cruz, Rhemy Medrano, Judge Jose Paneda, Engr. Ruben Quiogue, Max Roxas & Bebot Roxas , Atty. Jun Mendoza , Cesar Tan, Jun & Rudy Jingco, Ricky Valencia and Jun Gerochi among others.

The fight continues tomorrow, Tuesday, with the second half of competitors going through their 2-cock elimination matches. Wednesday's match will be the 2-cock semis between entries who came in on Jan. 18; on Thursday is the 2-cock semis for bets from Jan. 19; Friday will be the 4-cock finals from the Jan. 20 semis, qualifiers while Jan. 23, Saturday, will be the 4-cock finals for surviors from the Jan. 21 semis.

For more details, please contact Boy San Pedro or Dong Lamoste at 911-2928 or 911-3101 loc. 8361 or 8351 or log on to and

No comments:

Post a Comment