Monday, January 19, 2009


Cockfighting history unfolds today starting at ten in the morning at the Araneta Coliseum when the much talked-about 2009 World Slashers Cup 8-Cock Invitational Derby begins its epic 5-day battle between the best and the finest breeds and strains of fightingcocks from all over the globe.

Hosted by the Pintakasi of Champions, this record-breaking presentation is sponsored by Thunderbird Power Feeds and Thunderbird Power Vet.

Colliding in today's 2-cock eliminations is the first half of the field with the rest of the competitors set to lock horns tomorrow.

Composing the powerhouse cast of foreign entries are Wilbert LeBlanc & Richard Harris of Louisiana, Richard McCormick of Canada Roger Roberts of Georgia,, Chuck Berry of Oklahoma with his sinibalang fighters, Brad Padgette of Oregon, Damon Yorkman of Kentucky, Karl Casco of Hawaii, Thomas Mischkus of Germany, Brian Corkren of Alabama & Kiana Borovies of Hawaii,, Mike Formosa of Hawaii,, Jorge "Goy" Goitia of California, Arthur Rhodes of Tenessee and Ray Alexander of Alabama who will be honored for his continued participation in the Slasher for more than 30 years.

Other visiting entries are the Malaysian Group, Sigfrey Linsangan-Guam, Mar Gatmaitan-Guam, Henry Navarro-California, Ric Cabullos-Canada, Babay Evangelista-California, Cesar Ancaya, Rene Moraga & Glen Ferrer-San Diego; Warlito Raquel-Hawaii and Joey Melendres-Australia. Zosimo Antivo of Las Vegas

The locals is led by Nene Araneta with his Thunderbird entry, 2-time champion Gengen Arayata who seemed determined to do a three-peat fielding a total of four entries, Biboy Enriquez, Gov. Patrick Antonio, Chavit Singson, UGBA Heritage Upm champion Dong Chung, Mayor Jezry Palmares, Otic Geroso, Eddie Araneta and Thunderbird Winning Team standouts Boy Marzo, Rey Briones and Boy Lechon.

All eyes will be on Paeng Araneta-breeder of the Lemon 84 who was the first Filipino bet to win the World Slasher Cup and comebacking handler-conditioner Jun Cuello of San Pablo City.

Also listed to see action are Mike Romulo, Wilvin Sy, Rio Salceda, Madlambayan Bros., Tony Ang, Atty. Virgilo Manguerra, John Capinpin, Ms. Osang dela Cruz, Joemarie Bantillo/UJ Sabroso/Tony Sabroso, Anthony Garcia,, Rhemy Medrano, Judge Jose Paneda, Engr. Ruben Quiogue, , Max Roxas & Bebot Roxas , Sam Mendoza 2, Atty. Jun Mendoza , Cesar Tan, Manny Berbano and Crispin Aguas. Jun & Rudy Jingco, Ricky Valencia and Jun Gerochi among others.