Sunday, November 29, 2009


CARREO by Rolando S. Luzong

Peoples Tonight (November 29, 2009)

Bakbakan 2009 : The Die is Cast

After 55 provincial elimination events that started in October 10 adding up to a record-breaking 2,413 entries and 18 separate regional semis contests held all over the country, the die is cast with the roster of grand finalists that will compete for the championship on Thursday, December 3.

Only the undefeated entries, those that after 6 matches (3 in the elims & 3 in the semis) have won all their matches or won five and drew one.

These grand finals event at the historic Big Dome will finally decide who will rule this year’s Bakbakan – now regarded as the biggest cockfighting event worldwide.

There’s a total of 53 championship hopefuls that will try to wrestle the crown from defending 2008 Bakbakan champions John Daguio of the United Ilocandia Gamefowl Breeders Association and Jun Pe of the Zamboanga Gamefowl Breeders Association, who both scored 10-0 win-loss cards last year to share the Bakbakan 2008 title.


The 20 5.5-pointers include the following entries : GRND HB STAR (R.Daigo & Dr. Ronnie Magbalon – RGBA) ; JM/Jeth RSJ (Teodulo Martinez – RGBA); Keyang 2 (Mel Lim); GSB Eve Farm (Mayor Raspado – Isabela); Amo Na Ni (Ramon Mansenares); GAE Bagwis (Engr Neo Andal – BBC); Kingfisher (E.Tagle/Gen. Marino Filart); Iron Eagle (Boy Ledesma/Engr Posadas); Hero 2 and Hero 3 (Joseph Pua); Sinbad OTBT Mag Iriga City (BIGBA President Bong Gazmen); Matador (Aldo Dagoc); Bacolor Cockpit Fantastik (Jun Yap); BDC Flybird (Bryan Dela Cruz – UNIGBA); Goldvives & DVH (Danilo Hinlo/Mario Golingan); Mariza GCT (Dennis Luzuriaga); Puerto Princesa (Rolly/Paeng Banzuela – Palawan); MTB RS Organic 3 LDA (Benyong Lastimado – CVBA); Hoosier Cut 1 (Troy Bustalino – CVBA) and EDL 3 (Mayor Ed Lumayag – SGBA).

The 33 6-pointers include Thunderbird endorsers Honey Yu (Honey 111) and newspaper executive Rey Briones (Spartans Catmon 88) of Masbate who is fighting under the Rizal Gamefowl Breeders’ Association’s banner. Also in the list are Big Boys 2 (Omar Alivia –CVGBA); Skyhawk (Vice Gov Odi Fausto – CVGBA) RBR (Danny Cruz & Charlie Carlos - RGBA); Crocodile Creek Gamefarm 7 (Cong. Rudy Albano); JMB Farm KH (Dennis Buison -RGBA); RATZ (Gen. Rey Acop & Gen. Twiggy Zubia – RGBA); Rudwin Habagat (Atty.Darwin Asuncion - RGBA); Red Lady (Gov.Ed Ong of Aurora & Ed Fontanilla – RGBA); Malitbog Birds (Jose Ma. Escano); Happy Bday Nanay Bibang (Engr. Corsiga); Biboy Barcelona (Engr. Nonoy Baje – Cebu); RR-BCL (Benny Lim); Healthy Boy (Vince Del Mar – Cebu); Patapon 2 (Vice Gov. Joel Baac – Kalinga); JZB-M (Jun Berberabe – Batangas); Bluewave (Edwin Ronquillo); Woodberry (Engr. Elmer Malabanan); NML San Luis (Tony Lasala - BBC); RDA Farm 2 (Rene Adao); Red Montero (Tony Sy); Intruder (Al Bucu); GBAT II - (Ian Maniquis/Allan Cura/Allan Chan); Team ED Farm (Edwin Corpuz/Manny Ferrer/J.Daguio/Jay-R); JamJam (Jn,Jed & Jay Nalupta - UNIGBA); KC Winslet (Bobot Chua); Yarda Agdahon 1 (M.Panes/M.Panizales); Sitio Taruc (Ricardo Palmares Jr /Jesry Palmares - PAGBA); Matthew 1 (Jan Jan Reyes); Scorpion Peak (Vic Setias – Palawan); Super A Nikki (Arthur Bona – CVBA) and Scout Ranger PLG – Simon Rallos of CVBA.


Everyone set to watch the hostilities at the Araneta Coliseum on December 1 & 3 should drop by the NFGB Lounge that had been set up on the right side upon entering the Bgi Dome the Red Gate.

Officers of the NFGB, including the Presidents of all the associations affiliated with the NFGB will be on hand to answer queries of all those planning to fight in the Bakbakan next year.

Among the NFGB personalities set to grace the event are Sonny Lagon, Ricoy Palmares, Pol Estrellado, Jesry Palmares, Rey Briones, Pao Malvar, Fred Katigbak, Joey Sy, Arnel Añonuevo, Freddie Yulo, Al Garcia, Dr. Gil Sanding, Nitoy Nasser, Victor Sierra, Baba Yap, Vice Gov. Odie Fausto, Baham Mitra, Boy Lechon, Honey Yu, Teng Rañola, Manny Dalipe, Mayor Jess Nalupta, Jess Beltran, Jun Radasa, Bong Gazmen, Engr. Moises Almuete and many others.

“Fastest Win” vs. “Fastest Kill”

I am watching the San Juan Coliseum Fights at the Solar Sports channel while writing this column and I had to stop as I counted how many times the word “kill” was mentioned when announcements about the fastest kill prizes for the ongoing Rambulan was being announce.

Like what I have written so many times, it should not be “FASTEST KILL”, because the right term should be “FASTEST WIN”.

Not only that “FASTEST WIN” is kinder to hear, but because “FASTEST WIN” is the appropriate term.

In cockfighting rules, a rooster will be declared the winner if he is able to peck his opponent twice and the opponent not bale to peck back after being give three chances to do so.

There are so many occasions when a winner was able to peck twice, but died after that. And there are also roosters that loses the fight after not being able to retaliate, but are still alive.

When “FASTEST KILL” is being mentioned so many times in succession, it already sounds like kill, kill, kill.

No comments:

Post a Comment